First thoughts

How weird – I have a daily Shakespeare quote gadget on my iGoogle page and today it’s "Parting is such sweet sorrow."

First, I am so sick of this show eating into my sleep. Haven’t had a decent night all week and it’ll get critical once I’m back in work.

Second, is it just me or does anyone else feel that RTD’s pleasure in torturing David Tennant has reached disturbing levels? I mean, he was practically crowing in the Confidential about writing a scene where an actor who’s had recent back surgery gets bumped down a flight of stone stairs on a trolley. It bothers me a bit.

I also felt that the Jack/Alonzo scene was payback time for the Janto fans that gave him a hard time a few months ago. RTD has a cruel streak, like many arrogant people.

But my main question is this:
If it’s okay to replace Tom with Mickey
or a life in the TARDIS with boring Sean and a wedding frock
or Ianto with Alonzo, and everybody lives happily ever after,
then WTF is all the "I’m gonna die" angst about? You can’t have it both ways, RTD.

I hope I don’t feel quite this angry in the morning. It wasn’t all bad, by any means. But it could have been SO MUCH BETTER

6 thoughts on “First thoughts

  1. he was practically crowing in the Confidential about writing a scene where an actor who’s had recent back surgery gets bumped down a flight of stone stairs on a trolley
    He was? Oh, that’s creepy and nasty.
    then WTF is all the “I’m gonna die” angst about?
    I think that was RTD channeling himself rather than the Doctor speaking. The Doctor has said things like “I don’t want to go” (rather often) but never talked about himself as if he died and had never come back — an idea he’s outright made fun of in previous regenerations. No, it’s someone else who’s leaving and not getting to come back…

  2. As usual…I expected him to end it well…and he didn’t. You know, what the hey? By the time we got to the cop out on Donna I was feeling like things were going wrong. But I must admit…when Rose told him, “Go home, mate!” I thought maybe he was going home. And then, the Ood appeared and I sort of groaned inwardly. We never did learn who that woman was…unless RTD told us in the confidential. And now, we shall be asked to endure that creature that took David’s place…romancing River Song.
    I shall always imagine that the reason the whole TARDIS blew up like that…was that was Eleven beaming in from Rose. His remark about having legs still…was because he was temporarily disembodied. Rose, you see, has Ten safe and sound in the human body. RTD didn’t write it but I think I shall so…just so it is finished properly.
    Rae

  3. It wasn’t all bad, by any means. But it could have been SO MUCH BETTER
    Yep. I was frustrated by how of all the possible totally awesome finales we got this. None of the codas with the companions really made sense to me. However, as points out, it could definitely have been worse. It could have been a huge reset button on everything that happened in the RTD years. Ten could have regenerated by tripping over a brick! (Actually, cancel that. That scenario would have been GREAT.) It could have killed off goodness knows how many other characters. Instead, we have…this. I can’t say I’m happy, but I can live with it.

  4. Ten’s been out of character for quite some time. I think I could have rolled with it if it had been building slowly, if he had acknowledged building it slowly… but issues would lurk around in the background, then be brought up and resolved in nanoseconds.
    (Although what he did to the Family of Blood? Seven would totally have done that. Totally.)

Leave a Reply

