And so it begins

At last the adventure begins. I’m writing this from a hotel in London. I’ve treated myself to a broadband-on-the-run package and I’m hoping that I’ll have a bit more time to post than I’ve been getting lately.

So, Twelfth Night tonight and The Shrew tomorrow. Then to Stratford. I have my set plays packed up – Taming of the Shrew, the Comedy of Errors and Titus Andronicus, none of them exactly my favourites so it will be very interesting to see whether they improve on acquaintance. I have read them all twice and may, if my good intentions win out, get through them again before we dive in. The teaching begins on Friday night and goes through until 4.30 on Sunday afternooon. I already have a list of essay topics and the first 3,000 words is due on April 2nd. I’ve a feeling that will come around far too quickly.

As if that wasn’t enough of a challenge, I am also trying to lose weight. My health assessment last week revealed that I have a BMI of 32, which is obese by anyone’s standards, but more worrying still is that the extra inches are in the worst possible place, ie, the waist. I have been resisting this for a long time, but I’ve taken a deep breath and discovered that low GI snacks are a lot more palatable than I feared. It’s surprising how the body does adapt to a much lower calorie load, as long as you eat the right things.

I’ll be honest, the main reason I’ve never dieted is I can’t be arsed. Bad enough trying to cater for everyone else’s tastes in the family. My downfall is the evenings, when I eat up the kids’ leftovers. So I have made it easier on myself by getting a diet hamper delivered for the first week, and it’s really not been too bad. The Lizi’s granola in the mornings is nice enough to enjoy with skimmed milk if there’s a bit of fruit involved.

I’ve managed to shed about three kilos so far, and I’m feeling much more energetic than usual, and less depressed. I hope I can maintain at least some of the improvement whilst away from home.

I still have a DW fic to finish but I just can’t seem to get in the zone at the moment – sorry. Just one challenge too many.

3 thoughts on “And so it begins

  1. Congrats on the weight loss! I’ve been the same way about dieting, that I can’t be arsed to get my act together on my own, and it’s just me I’m taking care of. Having my diet meals delivered has been the best thing. No thinking, just eating. Ten pounds gone, ten more to go!

  2. Oatcakes. Oatcakes are about as low-GI as you can get and really filling – and with low-fat hummous or low-fat soft cheese they probably wouldn’t be too calorific either?
    Have a wonderful time with all that reading and watching and thinking! Will be fascinated to hear the lowdown on Titus, that’s one Shakespeare I’ve never seen and am not sure I want to…

  3. Diets don’t work. As soon as you go back to your old eating habits, the weight comes back. Diets are only suitable for actors getting into a role.
    What you mean to say is permanently altering the way you eat. You tend to lose more weight in the first fortnight because a lot of it is water. An important thing is to eat little and often. If you go for a long time between meals, three bad things happen. One – your mood drops with low blood sugar. Two – your body thinks there is a food shortage so holds onto existing fat reserves. Three – when you see food, you’ll gorge yourself because of the ‘food shortage.’ Eating little and often is more facilitative for your mood and weight loss. It also deters from the idea that food is your enemy. Food is essential for life and should be enjoyed.
    Of course, I have to be on a low GI diet because of my fatigue. I can’t cope with sugar and carbohydrate peaks followed by crashes. It’s also good to know that combining high and low GI food in the same meal gives an overall medium GI. I also find that eating pudding first makes the main meal for enjoyable, because the sugar gives me more alertness to eat the main meal. The main meal then offsets the sugar crash.
    I also have to eat anti-hunger foods because of my adrenals wearing out and causing me to shake. I eat wholefoods to combat this. Muesli for breakfast, wholegrain bread/toast for dinner, flapjack for snacks. You wouldn’t believe the difference having just brown bread for one lunchtime does to start the shaking and craving for more food.
    I have nothing constructive to add about Shakespeare and writing DW fics. I’m not in the mood to continue my fic at the moment either.

Leave a Reply

