The Winter of my Discontent

Okay, I just spent two hours backing up all my fic in case LJ goes belly-up overnight. I know it’s unlikely, but so was Wedgwood and Woolies going into administration, and that’s happened.

‘Tis bitter cold in here. The radiator hasn’t been used up here in the spare room for a few years and it must need bleeding or something. The warm blanket that aibhinn made for me last year is being well used – I am huddled up in it at the moment. I am trying to get my head around eight of Shakespeare’s plays by Jan 16th, when I have to be in Stratford and know them well. Have done "Richard II" and "Comedy of Errors" so far, and made a stab at ‘Cymbeline’ but – ye gods! It’s  not one of his best.

I have worked out a strategy for getting to know a new Shakespeare play. First, read the brief introduction in the RSC Complete Works. Then read the play straight through,fast, not worrying about the footnotes. Then read the introduction (Cambridge Shakespeare is the best, I’ve decided). Then return to the play and read again, making notes this time on staging issues and themes. I’ve got the process down to somewhere between two and three days per play.

I am now deep into "The Taming of the Shrew" which is horribly misogynistic but undeniably funny and all I can think is how much I want to see Tennant and Tate play Petruchio and Katherina. Oh please.

4 thoughts on “The Winter of my Discontent

  1. pointed me to this post, which describes several ways to back your journal up to a copy on your hard drive (with comments) or to another journal site (without comments). I backed up my journal to my hard drive tonight. I was astonished to learn that I’d posted a total of 174 entries!
    Catherine Tate seems born to play Katherina, you’re absolutely right!

  2. I am now deep into “The Taming of the Shrew” which is horribly misogynistic but undeniably funny and all I can think is how much I want to see Tennant and Tate play Petruchio and Katherina. Oh please.
    Oh, I would adore that!

  3. Oh, yes, perfect casting. Drop the RSC a line and suggest it 😉
    Glad you’ve backed up all the fic! Wondering if I can summon up the energy to investigate IJ, JournalFen and the rest…

Leave a Reply

