The Dreaded Movie Quote Meme

I finally got around to doing the movie quotes meme. A fairly eclectic collection, but there’s one or two classics in there. Bonus points if you spot one I mention in a fic. Actually, there’s four. Plus one they could have used as the tagline to “Fear Her” – it tears me up every time I hear it now.

Plus David Tennant’s favourite movie, according to a recent interview.

You know, I have one simple request. And that is to have sharks with frickin’ laser beams attached to their heads!

Austin Powers, International Man of Mystery  lelghlelghla

******

What I was thinking was, I was going to ask him if he could make me a bit lame in one leg during the middle of the
week. You know, something beggable, but not leprosy, which is a pain in the arse, to be blunt. Excuse my French, sir.

Life of Brian 

and

******

Do you actually like haggis?
– No, I think it’s repellent in every way. In fact, I think most Scottish cuisine is based on a dare.

So I Married an Axe Murderer 

******

You cut me real deep just now. Y’know what I think? I think this whole wall thing is to try and keep somebody out.

Shrek 

******

It’ll take me at least a week to dig up all my dolls in the cemetery.

Meet Me In St Louis 

******

I made it out just like you told me to: To the title of the play. “Cash”. It’s a funny sort of name for a play, “Cash”…
– So is “The Iceman Cometh”

The Producers  lelghlelghla

******

You might as well question why we breathe. If we stop breathing, we’ll die. If we stop fighting our enemies, the world will die.

******

He was as tough and romantic as the city he loved. Behind his black-rimmed glasses was the coiled sexual power of a jungle cat. – I love this.

******

Why don’t you make ten a little louder, make that the top number and make that a little louder?

Spinal Tap

******

Bright? He’s a common ignorant slob. He don’t even speak good English.
– Doesn’t even speak good English.

Twelve Angry Men

******

I’m a Jew… I’m small… I’m homosexual… and I live in Sheffield. [pause] I’m fucked.

******

The beast lurks within all of us, my child. [thunderclap] The side of us that emerges at night, when the full moon rises into the sky! The side that savagely rips the leaves off any innocent cabbage…!

Wallace and Gromit: Curse of the Wererabbit 

******

I turn on my computer. I wait impatiently as it connects. I go online, and my breath catches in my chest until I hear three little words:

You’ve Got Mail, guessed by

******

Gary, you can’t blame yourself for what gorillas did.

******

You’re an interesting species. An interesting mix. You’re capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares. You feel so lost, so cut off, so alone, only you’re not. See, in all our searching, the only thing we’ve found that makes the emptiness bearable, is each other.

Contact 

******

– How do you do business with a man who has no door?
– The ethics are just the same.

24 thoughts on “The Dreaded Movie Quote Meme

  1. I turn on my computer. I wait impatiently as it connects. I go online, and my breath catches in my chest until I hear three little words:
    I’m a hopeless romantic – You’ve Got Mail….

  2. 1. Austin Powers
    – I made it out just like you told me to: To the title of the play. “Cash”. It’s a funny sort of name for a play, “Cash”…
    – So is “The Iceman Cometh”

    The Producers

  3. – Do you actually like haggis?
    – No, I think it’s repellent in every way. In fact, I think most Scottish cuisine is based on a dare.

    Bwahahahaha! That would be So I Married An Axe Murderer. I had totally forgotten about how much I love that movie.

  4. Why don’t you make ten a little louder, make that the top number and make that a little louder?
    I think this is This is Spinal Tap. Yeah?
    You’re an interesting species. An interesting mix. You’re capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares. You feel so lost, so cut off, so alone, only you’re not. See, in all our searching, the only thing we’ve found that makes the emptiness bearable, is each other.
    That is Contact. Sniff.

  5. Some of these sound familiar but I can’t place them! Um, a couple that haven’t been solved so far:
    5. Meet Me in St. Louis
    12. Wallace & Gromit: Curse of the Wererabbit.

  6. So I Married an Axe Murderer is one of my Dad’s favorites.
    You cut me real deep just now. Y’know what I think? I think this whole wall thing is to try and keep somebody out.
    is Shrek (I love Donkey.)
    Spinal Tap! “But this one goes to eleven.”

  7. movie quotes
    You’re an interesting species. An interesting mix. You’re capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares. You feel so lost, so cut off, so alone, only you’re not. See, in all our searching, the only thing we’ve found that makes the emptiness bearable, is each other.
    The Abyss?

  8. – Bright? He’s a common ignorant slob. He don’t even speak good English.
    – Doesn’t even speak good English.

    12 Angry Men. (My favorite movie for YEARS. I show it every year to my students.) I love that it’s the immigrant who corrects the native-born English speaker’s grammar there. 😉

  9. What I was thinking was, I was going to ask him if he could make me a bit lame in one leg during the middle of the week. You know, something beggable, but not leprosy, which is a pain in the arse, to be blunt. Excuse my French, sir.
    I’m thinking this is Life of Brian. Am I right?

Leave a Reply

