AArgh……

I think I’m in rather bad shape. I was up too late, writing and rewriting, and then this morning I decided it was all wrong and went back to what was, basically, the original version. I feel like I’m on Sharp Edge and I just looked down.

I was really confident before. It was flowing beautifully, light comedy, good dialogue. Then I started thinking “Angst! Everybody’s writing Angst! And they are good at it.” I am not doing this right. I am not taking this seriously enough.

I know if I’d any sense I’d take a day off, catch up on sleep, do housework, go to the gym. Get some perspective.

And instead I just keep on banging my head against a brick wall, trying redraft after redraft and hating all of it.

Funny thing is, I’ve got exactly the story I’m happy with in terms of plot. I just can’t make it work in character. Maybe just because I’m sleep deprived. I’ve got to the point now where I routinely wake between 1.00 and 3.00 am and it takes anything up to a couple of hours to get back to sleep. Which probably has more to do with lack of exercise and SAD than any creative angst.

Going to a premiere of The History Boys tonight with Alan Bennett and Nick Hyntner speaking. It’s all been arranged by MGS as a drama fundraiser. Should be a great night out and just what I need, cos if I stay in I’ll just worry away at this stuff and get nowhere.

On a happier note, a very nice 14 page interview with DT in the Doctor Who magazine. Didn’t tell me very much I didn’t know already, but it did remind me that there is a place for just having fun with Doctor Who, and I think maybe that was a message I needed to hear.

9 thoughts on “AArgh……

  1. Going to a premiere of The History Boys tonight with Alan Bennett and Nick Hyntner speaking. It’s all been arranged by MGS as a drama fundraiser. Should be a great night out and just what I need, cos if I stay in I’ll just worry away at this stuff and get nowhere.
    /me is very jealous

  2. The History Boys
    Just got back and it was excellent. Do go and see it if you can. Anyone with a son in mid-teens would find a great deal to relate to, and it is very well done with a great cast.

  3. Would you mind if I added you? I’ve been reading your DW fic and love it. Reading your past posts I realise I agree with pretty much everything you say about the show.
    I think we also come from the same neck of the woods. I’m an ex-WGS girl.
    And ooh The History Boys! I want to see that.

  4. Then I started thinking “Angst! Everybody’s writing Angst! And they are good at it.” I am not doing this right. I am not taking this seriously enough.
    If you’re talking about your fic Boxing Day, can I just say that I love it? I’m commenting here because I lurk on lj for the fic, don’t have one of my own and thus can’t comment on T&C. Bad me.
    I love it, because it addresses things RTD left hanging after the regeneration and the reality of what a relationship between the Doctor and Rose might look like. She isn’t a child(I hate it when fans infantilize her), but she IS very young. And the Doctor is set in ways that are 900 years old and he is an alien. He might love humanity, but he doesn’t always get it, any more than Rose completely understands where he’s coming from. But I also love the humor. It makes it feel like an episode.

  5. Oh, thank you! How kind of you to write. I have now managed to break through the writers block and put up Part 7.
    And,yes, WGS! You survived the academic salt mines, well done! I’m afraid my daughter didn’t get in (she didn’t want to work that hard, reasonably enough) but she is now very happy at the local comp, Parrs Wood.

  6. Parrs Wood’s really good as well though. I looked at it for sixth form, but as I wanted to do classics, changing probably wouldn’t have been a good idea!
    I’m off to read Part 7 now! 🙂

  7. Re: The History Boys
    There was indeed – I find these things tend to be disappointing, especially as AB is clearly somewhat uncomfortable speaking in public. We met four of the original boys, which was lovely. They have been together as a group throughout the whole production, from the National to Broadway and now the film. In many ways they have bonded with AB in the way (but not all the ways 😉
    we see them relate to Hector in the movie.
    Hyntner was good, very passionate about his debt to MGS, where he was an old boy, and his vision for a new drama centre linking school and community.

Leave a Reply

